Silent Presence

computer gameOur eldest (4) chose to play an age-appropriate computer game for his special time. I sat beside him as he effortlessly played the game. He said nothing, did not look at me once.

Halfway through I thought that I should make contact so I leaned over and kissed his shoulder several times. No reaction. I decided to not have any further agenda of my own and sat beside him, fully attentive, until time was up.

Convinced that he had hardly been aware of my presence, I told him thatĀ special time was over and thatĀ I was going to do other things. To my surprise, he immediately turned to me with wide eyes and asked “Do you really have to leave now, mom?” I was so surprised that he had been very aware of my presence and would be missing it after special time!

– a mom in Sweden

Leave a Reply

