A Preschool Presentation Changes Mom’s Approach

Smiling WomanIt was great to have Hand in Hand here recently to present a talk to the parents at our school.  The talk was very well received by everyone I have spoken with. And I always learn so much!  The presenter gave a deep and engaging talk on Discipline vs. Connection.  It was challenging for some of our members, but I thought the speaker was spot on.  I’ve had a lot of great questions since.

During the talk one mom left the room.  I thought she was disinterested.  I casually asked her how she was doing and she said, “I just had to step away, I can’t stop yawning. I don’t know what is going on.”

I suggested that maybe the speaker was touching an emotional place in her.  She immediately started to cry. “I know what a good mom should do, I feel so bad when I hear this, but I can’t manage to be a good mom.”

I gave her a hug, and she headed back to the talk.  Two days later only one of her twin boys came to school.  Dad brought one boy to school so that Mom could have Special Time with the other.  They’ll swap boys next time.

So wonderful to see the difference a presentation can make. Keep up the good work!

~ A parent-participation preschool Director in San Francisco, CA

Interested in a talk at your school or daycare center? We can help.

Leave a Reply

