How to Connect with My Friends: Playlistening, of Course!

chalk boardMy daughter has a friend round today. It’s the weekend. They are 6 years old and in the same class. They have had a play date once before as we have only recently moved to this area. Her friend has been made homeless because the family was flooded out of their home. My daughter is actually doing Playlistening with her! She is making her friend laugh and laugh, and they are having a wonderful connecting experience. I have heard the friend say: “Oh, you’re the laughing lady!” They have been  dressing up and laughing all the time. I am hoping that this is very good for the friend because it can’t be much fun for her to see her home destroyed, or to have to live in other people’s houses.

So during all this time I have been doing Playlistening with my daughter, she has been storing it up as a good strategy for connecting. I am very proud of her. I didn’t need to teach her this. It arises from good connecting experiences.

Laura Newman
Instructor Candidate in the UK with Hand in Hand Parenting
Facebook.com/infinityparenting

One thought on “How to Connect with My Friends: Playlistening, of Course!

Leave a Reply

