My Son Finds the Courage to Speak Up

My son and his babysitterOur babysitter came over, and she and my 4-year-old son were having a pillow fight in the other room. My son ran to me and buried his face in my lap. I could sense he was very upset about something that just happened. I put my hand gently on his back and tried to make eye contact with him. I was quiet and listened to him cry. I could tell he wasn’t badly hurt and just needed me to do some Staylistening with him.

After a minute he popped his head up from my lap and said, “Emily was too rough with me.” “Oh, I see,” I said. “I’m wondering if you’re okay?” He pointed to his back. It looked fine.

Emily came in the room and said he hurt his back. My son was still crying and I continued to listen and offer my warmth and attention. After a couple of minutes he got up and went to eat something. About 10 minutes later my son said very clearly, in a big voice, “Emily, you were too rough with me.” She apologized.

-Christine Ashe, Certified Instructor

One thought on “My Son Finds the Courage to Speak Up

  1. I love this post. It is a great reminder that we must all speak up for ourselves. I had an experience as an adult, at work. I wasn’t being paid fairly and it really bothered me. i didn’t know what to do or say about it. I read a great book titled, “Stop Playing Safe: Rethink Risk. Unlock the Power of Courage. Achieve Outstanding Success” by Margie Warrell. The book offered a lot of great tips on how to find the confidence to ask for what you really want, and get the recognition you really deserve. It takes a lot of courage. I think it is great that you son has already learned this skill at such an early age!

Leave a Reply

